For almost a month, I did not hear any feedback from the Thai immigration after sending my notification of staying in the Kingdom over 90 days via mail.

The 90-day reporting to Thai immigrations is no longer new to most of the foreigners, especially for those non-b visa holders. This is a policy of Thai government to monitor the address of the foreigners living in the country. Failure to report means 2, 000 baht fine.

Since last year (2015), I have been sending my 90-day reporting form via MAIL. It gives me the advantage since I am living far from the nearest immigration. I also like the service of Thai Post- fast, safe, and cheap.

For almost 4 times of sending my report, everything went smoothly. I am sending my 90-day notification following these procedures (except sending envelope) from Thai Immigration Website.

  1. Photocopy of passport pages with following pages
    – front page showing name / surname / Passport No., etc.
    – current visa
    – last entry-stamp of immigration
    – last extension of visa
  2. Photocopy of departure card TM.6 click to view Example TM.6 card
  3. Previous notifications of staying over 90 days (if any) click to view Example document
  4. Completely filled in and signed notification form TM.47 click to view Example document (Don’t forget to sign name.)
  5. Envelope with 10 Baht-stamp affixed and return address of foreigner for the officer in charge to send back the lower part of form TM. 47 after having received the notification. This part must be kept for reference and for future notifications of staying over 90 days.
  6. The above-mentioned documents must be sent by registered mail and the receipt of the registration kept by the foreigner.
    Send the mail before the renewal date 15 days to Immigration office

Normally the immigration sends me back the notification receipt two days or a week after sending them the complete requirements. However, on my latest submission of notification, I did not receive any reply from the immigration for almost three weeks. Since I am not used to it, I requested a Thai co-worker to get in touch with Sakhon Nakhon Immigration (immigration office for my province) to know what happened with my documents (2,000 baht is not a joke for a fine, chai-mai? 555555 ). After 30-minute talk or more with the immigration officer, my Thai officemate informed me that I simply did not include an “envelope” as stated in the procedures.

5. Envelope with 10 Baht stamp affixed and return address of foreigner for the officer in charge to send back the lower part of form TM. 47 after having received the notification. This part must be kept for reference and for future notifications of staying over 90 days.

I admit not sending them “envelope” that they can use to put my notification receipt and send back to me.- a thing that I never included for four times before so I did not bother. 

After this incident, I realized to complete everything next time, I must then be thankful that the Thai immigration considered my documents for four times in a row. The only sad thing is that no one informed me that I am sending an incomplete requirement. 

The officer sent me my NOTIFICATION RECEIPT through e-mail, and suggested me to use their Online Notification facility next time.

Thai immigration website-link:  

http://www.immigration.go.th/nov2004/en/base.php?page=90days

To summarize, no rule has been changed. Only that the Thai immigration will not bother sending you receipts if you missed envelope with return address and 10 baht stamps on it. Worst, they will not entertain your notification if you lack the other more important requirements.

Well, “Following instructions always gets the advantage”

 

 

